open menu

The Approvals Panel makes sure the process of granting access to sensitive, linked administrative data is fair, equitable and transparent. It assesses the projects on a number of criteria. Projects must be approved before the data custodians make the final decision on whether to share their data.

Who sits on it?

The panel consists of:

  • the chair: Professor Sir Ian Diamond, Principal and Vice Chancellor, University of Aberdeen
  • three representatives of data providers:
    • Jane Naylor, Office for National Statistics
    • Yee-Wan Yau, HM Revenue and Customs
    • Steve Rose, Head of Strategic Research at Birmingham City Council
  • three senior academics (with different primary research areas):
    • Professor Richard Harris, Professor of Economics, Durham University
    • Dr John Power, Head of Research and Information Services, Northern Ireland Assembly
    • Professor Robert T Woods, Professor of Clinical Psychology of the Elderly DSDC Wales, Bangor University
  • a specialist in data protection and privacy: Lynn Wyeth, Information Governance Manager, Leicester City Council
  • two lay members:
    • William Mehaffy
    • Denise Kazmierczak

The Director of the Administrative Data Service or their nominee serve an as ex-officio member of the panel with no voting or decision-making rights.

The Panel can also refer specific questions to a group of independent lay experts who have volunteered their knowledge in specialist areas.

There is a list of approved projects.

Read the Approvals Panel Terms of Reference and the Approvals Panel Operating Procedures for more information.

Future meetings

The Panel meets once a month to make sure there are regular opportunities for projects to be assessed for approval.

  • 25 July 2017
  • 31 August 2017
  • 26 September 2017
  • 1 November 2017
  • 28 November 2017
  • 19 December 2017

We also publish the meeting minutes.

Rejected projects

Summary information about any projects rejected by the Approvals Panel is published quarterly.

Rejected Project Statistics (46Kb)

Page last updated: 20/09/2017